Media Awards


Honoring Voices of

Courage and Conscience

MPAC’s annual Media Awards celebrates members of the entertainment industry, artists, and activists who promote inclusion and social justice through their craft.

Our honorees have done so by advancing authentic portrayals of Islam and Muslims, increasing understanding by reflecting the realities we live in, and by inspiring action and movements for social change. Now in its 28th year, the Media Awards continues to honor innovative voices of courage and conscience who act boldly and intentionally in this critical time in history.

We have honored Oscar and Emmy winners, Nobel Laureates, Peabody Award finalists, blockbuster and indie films, courageous journalists, groundbreaking art exhibitions, and trailblazing writers, producers, and directors.  


Past Honorees


Actors, Activists
and Musicians

Actors may transform public opinion through the characters they play, but the truly courageous ones take on roles much bigger than those they portray onscreen. We have honored actor/activists who raise their voices in the public domain on behalf of American-Muslims, Latinos, the wrongfully incarcerated, and the LGBTQ+ community.




From Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves to Slumdog Millionaire, Bowling for Columbine to Selma, films have the power to change the way we see the world, and how we see each other.

We have honored screenwriters, producers, and directors who use the craft of filmmaking to reflect the raw authenticity of the world back to us in ways we haven’t seen.




The Daily Show, Grey’s Anatomy, The Good Wife, and CNN’s Parts Unknown are just some of the television shows that feature inclusive characters and storylines. 

We have honored over a dozen television series and specials that broaden our perspectives and expand our understanding of one another.


Artists & Writers

Storytelling begins with a blank page, a plain canvas or an empty stage, and the minds who fill that emptiness with original stories, screenplays, books, and images have the power to influence and broaden the minds of millions. We have honored artists and writers including Shepard Fairey, Marvel Comics, Karen Armstrong, and Dave Eggers whose work has changed the narrative entirely.